Skip to main content


  • Dr. Wayne Fuller

    CSSM's own Dr. Wayne Fuller, Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Iowa State University, was recently named one of Clarivate's 2020 Citation Laureate for Economics.

  • Members of the winning team.

    CSSM Graduate Student on winning team at Data Mining competition

    CSSM graduate student Yueying Wang is a member of the ISU Statistics and IMSE team which won the 20th annual Data Mining Cup. They beat nearly 150 teams from 114 universities in 28 countries to bringing home the top prize.

  • CSSM graduate student, Xiaofei Zhang has received the Survey Research Methods Section (SRMS) student travel award to attend the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM) 2019 in Denver, Colorado. 

  • CSSM graduate student, Xiaodan Lyu received a student travel award to attend the 2019 International Total Survey Error Workshop held in Italy in June 2019.

  • Zhengyuan Zhu and Wendy Wintersteen

     Four faculty members in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS) have been honored with an LAS Dean’s Professorship, one of the college’s newest and most prestigious opportunities to recognize faculty excellence.

    Zhengyuan Zhu, professor of statistics and director of the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology.

    “The Dean’s Professorship award gives me more freedom and resources to pursue high-risk, high-reward research — which has large potential impact,” said Zhu.

    The professorships are the result of Transforming LAS, an endowment fund created when two generous donors gifted proceeds from the sale of a company to the college. Honorees will be recognized during a formal ceremony at a later date.

  • Eric Henely accepts an award.

    LAS Awards were presented at the Fall Convocation and Awards Ceremony on September 12 in the Memorial Union.

    P&S Outstanding New Professional Award
    Eric Henely, systems analyst in the Center for Survey Statistics and Methodology

  • AMES, Iowa – Sugam Sharma remembers as a child listening to his parents talk about hunger. While his family always had enough to eat, hunger was prevalent and something he regularly witnessed growing up and as a young adult in India.

    “It is really heart wrenching to witness a mother in shabby and torn clothes, holding her baby, come to you and ask for help because her baby hasn’t had anything to eat,” Sharma said. “This I have witnessed often in my life.”

  • Congratulations to Richard Dorsch and Zhengyuan Zhu.

  • Hejian Sang receives scholarship for excellent academic records and contributions to survey statistics.


  • Wayne fuller received award for his outstanding contributions to three broad areas of statistical theory.


Subscribe to RSS Feed